Who were you before?

Knowledge is an emotion

Robert Burton

We are so lucky and yet doomed to be confused. Information is everywhere and our opinions are all valid. Therapy for Change approaches confusion, anxiety and depression by looking through the lenses of self-soothing, nutrtional supplements and therapy.

I wonder if I’ll ever watch a webinar or youtube interview where the presenters don’t start with “I’m so excited to be here” and then proceed to spin time at the speed of a dial up. Anywhere from 5 minutes to 15 minutes. I wait and I fast forward. I am managing my time. I am not excited by waiting.

Many of my anxious clients don’t like waiting either, they fear presenting their vulnerability in the now. Without agency and the ability to take up space, they worry about the future, the past and throw clouds of worry into their lives to alleviate their terror of being here right now.

Here in Sussex the never ending winter is still in evidence. Nature is staying in and the seagulls are still inland in suburbia.

My neighbour has a tendency to put food outside for her cats, scraps of meat from roast dinners are launched from her door.Yesterday I watched as a group of seagulls flew down and grabbed some chicken bones. Seagulls make a lot of noise, screaming, cawing and flapping. We notice them. Fight and flight.

I thought to myself is this cannibalism?

What happens in survival can shatter our moral compass and our capacity for empathy and tolerance. Sometimes we can disregard parts of self, shut them down completely in order to survive. Self-cannibalism.

Who were you before you went through trauma?

Before you became the person you are now.

Are there parts of your former persona you grieve for, were those parts of self taken or erased or forgotten. Did your younger self experience isolation as a punishment for self-expression?

Have you sacrificed yourself to keep peace in your family, your relationship, your work or your friendships?

I would approach this in a therapy session by encouraging the client to be present in the moment, this moment. Using EFT(emotional freedom technique) I will always tap through the acupressure points with them. We move through the stuff together, encouraging real and meaningful connection. I watch as they shift through the autonomic gears, tap, tap deep breath, tap, tap and their colour changes.

We move through together.

Trust is vital. Especially when they have tried to survive by not being here. Not being present. How do I know this? Because I have done this too.

Valuing you and your precious self with curiousity and empathy is what I can offer, but more than that I will walk alongside you and teach you the skills for doing this yourself.

Here’s my unique algorithym for change.

Create a stable, healthy foundation within the nervous system using nutritional supplements.

Re-develop your self-soothing somatic awareness.

Recognise and reformulate those trauma triggers that can set you back into a dysfunctional state.

Published by Benita Scott

Psychologist, Scientific Researcher and Holistic Therapeutic Practitioner Create or adapt to lasting change using very gentle but effective therapies. #mentalhealth #Teens #development #neuroplasticity #grief #therapyforchange #nutrition Based in Hove, East Sussex available online via Zoom

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.